Cakes That Look Like Other Things

Image

For my dad’s birthday I wanted to make him something that he would love but I thought it would be too difficult to make myself out of cake. So, I opted for his next favorite thing, aside from my siblings and me (but mainly me), which is his passion for fishing.

I made this cake with lemon sponge and marzipan. The natural color of the marzipan is similar to that of striped bass so I only needed to add a bit of coloring for details. To create the gill-like texture I used a teaspoon and pressed down. Marzipan has a texture very similar to that of Play-Doh so it is really easy to make impressions in it. I used a sparkly silver gel food color (it was from a Disney Princess cupcake decorating package, tee hee) that I spread all over to give it a “fresh from the sea” shine that looked pretty realistic! As a finishing touch, I put some tackle near the fish’s mouth.

Clearly, everybody enjoyed eating it as much as they did looking at it!

One thought on “Cakes That Look Like Other Things

  1. Pingback:  This weekend my siblings and I celebrate our | Kelsey Cakes

Leave a Reply

